Venture capital

29Jan

Charles Hudson, SoftTechVC: Are the Founder’s Awesome?

Charles Hudson, SoftTechVC speaks about all the changes in the venture industry.  It was much simpler in the ‘old days’ for founders but now there are so many more sources of capital & so many more rounds that its hard for founders to figure out to whom should I speak […]

17Nov

Vivek Wadhwa: The venture capital industry needs to fix itself for its own good! #smartmoneysv

Vivek Wadhwa, Author & Journalist @NVCA 2014 who spoke on the Diversity Panel. Less than 5% of venture capitalists are women, they know the female market & they are more compassionate. He says the trouble with the venture capital industry right now is that it’s the same boys club, the […]

07Mar

Manu Kumar, Chief Firestarter K9 Ventures #smartmoneysv

We bumped into Manu Kumar, K9 Ventures @Launch 2014.  He was there to watch the demo for Coin as he was one of the earliest investors. He contributes greatly with a hands on approach with all startups in which he invests. As he said he invests ‘frighteningly’ early!  Check out […]

03Mar

Captivology: The Science of Capturing People’s Attention with Ben Parr #smartmoneysv

Captivology: The Science of Capturing People’s Attention: Venture Capital Keynote with Ben Parr, @benparr author ‘Captivology: The Science of Capturing People’s Attention’, Partner Dominate Fund. Related articles Announcing “Captivology”, My Book on the Science of Attention (HarperCollins/2015) | Ben Parr’s Entrepreneurial Musings (benparr.com) Meet YEC’s Ben Parr of #DominateFund on […]

28Feb

Alternate Options to Raising Venture Capital: Alternate Funding Round Table #smartmoneysv

Alternate Options to Raising Venture Capital: Alternate Funding Round Table with Scott Orn, Lighthouse Capital @scottorn ; Danae Ringelmann, Indiegogo @gogoDanae ; Nancy Hayes, Moolahoop @nancyhayes ; Robert Mitchell, Crowdfund Capital Advisors @CrowdCapAdvisor Trish Costello , Portfolia @trishcostello1 ; Kate Ohara, Startup TV @realgirl1234 with Sydney Armani, Crowdfundbeat @Sydney_Armani moderator. Related articles Is […]

26Feb

Raising Capital:It’s a Strategic Campaign Gwen Edwards, GoldenSeeds #smartmoneysv

Raising Capital: It’s a Strategic Campaign: Angel Investing Keynote with Gwen Edwards, Managing Director Golden Seeds @Gwenedwards Related articles Jeff Harbach, Exec Director Central Texas Angel Network #smartmoneysv (smartmoneysv.com) Larry Marcus, Managing Director Walden Ventures #smartmoneysv (smartmoneysv.com) Is Silicon Valley Venture a Global Model? with Saad Khan, CMEA #smartmoneysv (smartmoneysv.com)

21Feb

Is Silicon Valley Venture a Global Model? with Saad Khan, CMEA #smartmoneysv

Venture Capital Coffee Chat with Saad Khan, Partner CMEA IT @saadventures Related articles Josh Elman, Partner Greylock Partners #smartmoneysv (smartmoneysv.com) Robert D Pavey, Partner Morgenthaler Ventures #smartmoneysv (smartmoneysv.com) Entrepreneur Corner: Domain woes and building a sales machine (venturebeat.com) MediaSpike raises $5.2M from army of investors for in-game ads (venturebeat.com) Robert […]

19Feb

Raising Venture from an Industry in Transition: Round Table #smartmoneysv

Raising Venture from an Industry in Transition: Venture Capital Round Table with Kevin Swan, iNovia Capital @kswan; Matt Goldstein, Trinity Ventures @mattgoldstein ; Patrick Sagisi, DBL Investors @PatrickSagisi ; Eghosa Omoigui, EchoVC Partners @EghosaO ; Edith Yeung, Right Ventures @edithyeung ; Willam Quigley, Clearstone Venture Partners @bigbillyq with Andrew Romans, […]

17Feb

Venture Capital Then & Now: Bob Pavey, Emeritus Partner Morgenthaler #smartmoneysv

SmartMoney Silicon Valley opened with a Coffee Chat with Bob Pavey, Emeritus Partner Morgenthaler @bobpavey. Bob shared some of the history of venture capital & Silicon Valley. He also spoke about the changes that have happened in the industry. Fabulous conversation with someone who has been in the industry from its […]

Watch Livestream of  Smart Money Silicon Valley Winter 2014 on this link. (Please note all Pacific time) You can download a copy of the Program here   9am: Venture Capital Then & Now Breakfast Venture Capital Coffee Chat with Bob Pavey, Emeritus Partner Morgenthaler @bobpavey 10am: Raising Venture from an Industry […]